Transformice!* is an awesomesauce little game wherein you control a mouse in order to get cheese and then get back into the mouse hole.  There are some obstacles in the way.  One of the mice is named Shaman for the round and helps** you get your mouse through the puzzle if help is indeed needed.

The scary part is the chat that takes place on the lower part of the screen.  The people on the chat aren’t always happy, PC people.  I get the impression a lot of them are Anonymous.***  However, they occasionally (like today) will offer advice on what to do if you’re Shaman and can’t get a balloon to attach to another mouse correctly (as happened to me – someone actually was friendly and gave me advice as opposed to calling me n00bshammy and suggesting my mouse kill itself – it was refreshing, really).

So go play. It’s fun.  Fashion bonus: inn another 18 or so successful cheese runs, I’ll be able to “buy” a teeny top hat for my little mouse.  Exciting, non?

And because I wouldn’t be a former academic without footnotes:
* followers of my beer blog will know that I’ve been lately running into nouns suffering from “Errant Punctuation Point Syndrome,” wherein a lone exclamation point appears at the end of a word for no grammatically apparent reason.  I’ve yet to figure out the cause of all these errant marks of punctuation.  I can’t blame the internet, as Transformice! is actually the first time I’ve noticed this phenomenon online, and the Bully! Porter which started this whole trend was brewed before Al Gore created the World Wide Web.
** “helps” is a generous word.  Some Shaman (aka “shammy” in the chat box) help.  Some are trolls who block progress.  The trolls are usually pretty funny, so it’s all good.
*** If you don’t know what I mean when I say Anonymous, consider yourself very glad and try not to find out.

