I feel old.

When I was 7, my parents bought my brother and I our first Nintendo.  I have happy memories of many childhood hours spent playing Super Mario Brothers both alone and with my brother, delightedly squealing as we sank down tubes, fell down holes, discovered warp levels, and found out (yet again) that the Princess (then nameless) was in another castle.  It was and still is one of the greatest video games ever created.

Today I found out that Super Mario Brothers is officially 25 years old, meaning that it was already two years old by the time I was able to play it.  In video game terms, 25 years old is pretty much older than dirt (or at the very least older than Feudalism, which would probably be defined as the day the first Final Fantasy game came out – December 18th, 1987).

So, if you can find a way to do so, the best possible procrastination technique of the day would involve a good solid hour or six of playing Super Mario Bros.  If you can’t play the original, you can probably play one of the others, or at the very least a few rounds of Mario Kart.  Enjoy, and return to productivity tomorrow.  Maybe.

**** LATE (well, sort of) NIGHT EDIT:  this is a link to a video of someone beating Super Mario Bros in five minutes flat.  WIN.

